Motor City Basketball: Restoring the Pistons' Glory

Motor City Basketball: Restoring the Pistons' Glory

Postby Myles Nelson » Sat Apr 30, 2011 11:40 am

Let me make one thing clear: I grew up hating the Pistons.

I wasn't old enough to be aware of the Bad Boys vs. Jordan days, but when I started playing basketball I would watch every Jordan tape available, and seeing how unsportsmanlike the Pistons played always got me upset. I couldn't stand them!

Then, growing up in LA, I was a huge fan of the Lakers (the other "team" in LA wasn't worth my time). When the Lakers signed Payton and Malone, I thought we had a pretty good team. Sure they were old, but an old Payton and Malone is still an upgrade over Fisher and Horry. Unfortunately, we lost to a Pistons team built without any sure future Hall of Famers, like the Lakers had, but five players who played defense and played like a team (today's Celtics, anyone?) Led by floor general Chauncey Billups, anchored by the Wallace boys, defensive stalwart Ben and offensive force Rasheed, and with Rip Hamilton and Tayshaun Prince running the wings, the Pistons were as balanced as any team. Defeating the star-studded Lakers only made my eyes angrier every time I saw the Pistons.

Yet, when the Pistons offered me my first GM opportunity, I couldn't say no. I had to get my foot in the door somehow, and this could be my only opportunity. So I did what any normal person would do, and took the job. Also, looking at 750k a year was pretty nice too. (I know that isn't great for a GM, but I'm fairly unproven and it is literally 10x the amount of money I was making before, so I consider it a fair offer).

Here we go. Motor City, I hope you're tired of losing.
Myles Nelson

Roster

Postby Myles Nelson » Sat Apr 30, 2011 12:12 pm