starting as an assistant: the Mike Schaplowsky story

starting as an assistant: the Mike Schaplowsky story

Postby sportsfanmike » Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:10 am

A little background about me, I've been coaching for 10 years now. I started as a middle school coach, did that for 1 year, then coached high school JV for 4 years, coached high school varsity 3 years, and coached at a community college for 2 years, where my main job was recruiting. Now, there were no official recruiting rankings, I've been told that unofficially, my 2 recruiting classes were among the best in the nation. They must have been good, because the head coach at Wichita State University, Michael Sanchez, called me up and wanted my services. I have signed a 2 year contract to be the recruiting coordinator at WSU! I'm excited, yet nervous at the same time.

I will be writing this dynasty report from the eyes of a recruiter. It won't be as detailed with game by game reports. It could be boring, because most of the reports will be about recruiting. I'll still give out our schedule and I will give game results, but until I get a head coaching gig, my dynasty reporting will be more based on my recruiting efforts and results.

Anyhow, here is a little bit more info about me.

Mike Schaplowsky
Contract: 2 years/$44,000 a year
Ambition: Very High (no doubt I want to have my own team someday.)
Offense: 30
Defense: 30
Recruiting: 60
Scouting: 15
Player Development: 15

Hopefully this doesn't get too boring for you guys, as it will be a new experience.
sportsfanmike

Postby sportsfanmike » Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:23 am

I guess I should have read up on this more. I thought I actually got to have a big hand in recruiting. buying reports, travelling, etc etc, but I guess all I get to do is set the call and watch list and look at game film. this could get boring real quick. I don't even get to do the meat of the recruiting.
sportsfanmike

Postby sportsfanmike » Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:45 am