New York, New York! Bringing a championship home

New York, New York! Bringing a championship home

Postby zike_42 » Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:17 am

New York New York. Everyone knows the song and everyone especially knows of the city. The Big Apple, the place where dreams come true. As Jay-Z once said, “I made it here I can make it anywhere”. For the last 10 years I have made it here. Finishing college at St. Johns where I was a temporary assistant coach after one of our coaches died of a heart attack I decided that a career in basketball was for me. I was recruited as a assistant scout for the New York Knicks and over the past decade I have risen through the ranks to the present day where I the assistant general manager for the Knicks. That was all going to change though...

On the fourth of October 2012 owner Charles Rolen enters my office with a stern look on his face.

“Yaxley, you have been doing a fantastic job here at the Knicks, especially with Donnie Walsh’s health.”
“Thanks Mr Rolen I try my best.” I reply, wondering what is going on.
He continues. “With everything change comes. Unfortunately for us, Mr Walsh decided change is exactly the same as before and has gone back to the Pacers. That is where you come in.”
“What do you need from me?” I ask, trying to not get ahead of myself even though my head was racing.
“We want you to be the new General Manager of the New York Knicks and bring us a championship.”
Wow. I am flabbergasted but so excited. “Absolutely! You can count on me!” I blurt out like a school kid.
“Good, good. But remember, this is New York City. The fans will not tolerate anything less than an elite team. Neither will I.” Mr Rolen ends that sentence with a bit of a frown and I nod my head. No rebuilding here.
“Pack your things; you’re getting a new office.” He says leaving the room.