outside looking in

Discuss anything you like related to Wolverine Studios

outside looking in

Postby snarky » Mon May 01, 2006 11:28 am

Gary,
I was inspired by your story of how you got into programming. I was wondering if you had any advice for a would-be hobby programmer. I've had some general experience programming but would like to venture into making my own games. Do you have any advice on where to begin?
IE- how did you make the transistion from someone with no experience into someone who is now making games?
thanks for your input.
Also, any others out there with advice?
thanks...
snarky

Postby Gary Gorski » Mon May 01, 2006 1:14 pm

Well, the best advice I have is to program. Remember, the first attempt I had at making a game turned into something that ended up in the scrap heap. It's not hard to design a game - anyone with some creativity can do that in a notebook. The hard part is being able to take what you envision and turn it into what happens through the code. If you can make yourself learn and stick with it there's no reason why you can't learn how to make a game.

One other thing that was helpful was to look for small victories the first time around. I knew what I was doing back then wasn't probably very good so I was willing to accept that all the work I was doing might end up just as a learning experience which it did. I remember how excited I was when I got the code to program a jump ball. Yeah, that sounds dumb and now progamming a jump ball is simply one of a thousand tasks on my to do list for a basketball game but when I was first learning it was really cool to see the code actually do something and because I saw small victories like that along the way I was able to keep at it.