Test Dynasty: Al Besenya

Test Dynasty: Al Besenya

Postby Wayne23 » Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:40 am

Test Dynasty- Promotion/Relegation

(Author’s Note: I will abandon this when Gary puts up 1.2, or when Bloomington puts up a new edition of his mod so it may not live long.)

My name is Al Besenya. I’m 35 years old and I been around coaching since I graduated from Oregon ST 14 years ago. Finally got the head coach job at San Diego five years ago and went 86-54 there. We got promoted four out of five years.

U. of Washington came calling this spring. Taking the job meant moving from Conf. Q to Conf. E, with a salary increase from $99,000 to $539,000, better facilities, a much bigger budget. How could I say no? I didn’t.

So I dumped the assistants, #1 because he was jealous of me getting the job, and #2 and #3 because they weren’t that good. I brought in Ben Metcalfe at #1. He’s a great recruiter. He told me he’s probably going to retire at the end of the year but I’ll take my chances. #2 is Matt Price, and he is a terrific scout. I got him for 3 years. If Ben goes I’ll bump Matt up to #1. #3 is Brian Crouch, and he’ll be my bench/practice coach. He came with me from San Diego and I’d like to get him to #2 if I can.

Okay. This is about the dynasty not about me so let’s go.

May 1

I bought the gold for the West and the basic national and international. That leaves me with $50,250 for recruiting which should be plenty.

June 26

I trimmed the roster. Got rid of the walk ons and a couple guys who looked like they’d never get off the bench so we’re looking for 5 guys. Tell you the truth I would have got rid of a few more but I don’t want the assistant trainer to suit up so…

Still, I got 3 good looking guards and 3 good looking bigs with 2 other bigs who look okay. My A. D., Rip Lee, only wants us to finish in the top half of Conf. E, go to the NCAA, and win 15+, so I think we’ll be okay.