Historical Association #2

Historical Association #2

Postby Wayne23 » Sat May 13, 2017 11:28 am

(Author’s note: I am choosing not to write this with the dialect. Assume the southern accent, slang, usage, spelling…)

5/1/1886: Bubba Watson here. I’m a lucky guy. Always have been. Born in 1861, the year that miserable traitor Lincoln wouldn’t let us go our own way, in the boonies of North Carolina, ta a family that had nothing. Poor as the colored folk. But we managed, barely.

Grew up tall enough an’ athletic enough to have Wofford College, here in Spartansburg, SC, let me play basketball for them and pay for my college education.

When I graduated they took me on as an assistant coach, an’ this year, when the head coach retired they gave me the job, so here I am, a head coach on my 25th birthday. I call that lucky! Now it wouldn’t pay enough to live on but they let me take all my meals on campus and I live free in faculty housing. It’s a tiny little flat, but it’s all I need.

My plan is to tell you about my team and that, and to tell a little about what’s going on in the world while I’m at it. For instance some damn Yankee communists are rioting in Chicago for an 8 hour workday. Hope the cops shoot all of the damn fools.

6/5: The other day that dirty damn Yankee President Grover Cleveland married a girl he and his widow raised. Sounds pretty dang sick to me, but he’s a Yankee, ain;t he.

6/26: 5 scholarships. We’ll stay close to home with our recruiting. We don’t have hardly any money. We’ll try to go 2-3, big-small or small-big.

7/15: The offices here at Wofford ain’t much, but we get the job done. They just installed a phone but we all gotta share it. Still, it helps, and our facilities ain’t the worst.

8/21: I offer to 3 PGs, 2 bigs. Not a lot of interest though. We’ll see if it develops.

9/18: No recruits committed yet but 3 are close. Soft schedule this year. Wins draw recruits.