Basic Recruiting Questions

Basic Recruiting Questions

Postby jas80s » Fri Feb 01, 2019 7:09 pm

Hello all,

I am new to the game and I had a few basic questions regarding recruiting and I was hoping some of the vets might weigh in.

1. Generally speaking, about how many players should be recruited at any given time? My first run through, I was usually around 20 or so. I was at a medium school, so the top guys shot me down, so I started focusing on mid level guys and local talent.

2. When in the process do you offer scholarships? Is it solely near the end? Is there an advantage to doing it early?

3. Is there something to be gained by continuing to watch film on a player? Once you get the basic grades they seem pretty static, so is there something else you gain by watching again?

My first time through, I focused on local guys and continued the process with guys who showed interest and abandoned the ones that didn't. Each period I would jettison the guys who said no, and replaced them with a few more prospects. Is that about the gist of it?

Thank you very much for reading.
jas80s

Re: Basic Recruiting Questions

Postby Magic Bird » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:23 pm

jas80s wrote:1. Generally speaking, about how many players should be recruited at any given time? My first run through, I was usually around 20 or so. I was at a medium school, so the top guys shot me down, so I started focusing on mid level guys and local talent.

2. When in the process do you offer scholarships? Is it solely near the end? Is there an advantage to doing it early?

3. Is there something to be gained by continuing to watch film on a player? Once you get the basic grades they seem pretty static, so is there something else you gain by watching again?