Fun and Games

Fun and Games

Postby Wayne23 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:28 am

Copyright 2019 Wayne N. Trembly

DDS:CB 2019: “Fun and Games”

4/30/1970: I’m Wayne Tuthry. 27 years old. Just hired as head coach at Omaha in the Summit League. That’s where I went to school. When I graduated they took me on as #3 assistant. Been here ever since. Moved up to #2 after 2 years, #1 after 3 years. The HC just retired so I’m it.

I walked on with the Omaha team in my freshman year. At 6’3” I played SG and SF. My strengths were shooting and D, and I was a fair passer.

Didn’t play at all the first year and very little the second. But the coach took a liking to me when he realized I was really interested in the coaching aspect of the game. There was always a book about basketball strategy or a bio of a famous coach on the top of my book pile; still is, for that matter. Anyway, Coach spent time with me and taught me a lot.

I played some my junior year and was the 6th man my senior year, and in each of those years I learned more and more about coaching. Then as a member of the staff I was in on strategy sessions and was part of the decision making. When Coach retired earlier this month, he pushed hard to get me the job. The A. D. and the committee interviewed me, and lots of others. I don’t think they wanted to hire me but none of the guys they wanted, wanted to come here so I guess I got the job by default. Fine with me. They gave me three years to prove myself, and that’s what I plan to do.