Transfer to the Title

Transfer to the Title

Postby Wayne23 » Sun Mar 13, 2022 1:27 pm

Transfer to the Title DDSCB 2022

4/25/2022: Mack Lowe here. I've just been named head coach of the Vermont Catamounts, generally called the Cats here in Burlington. Their TP is 49, Facilities C, Academics B.

High expectations here- win the America East tourney, get to the NIT, win 15 games. We'll see.

I'm only 28 but I have been the #1 assistant at UMass ever since I graduated from that school, and I'm ready!

I got the job because I told the A. D., Ali Veer, and her committee that i intended to build a program here more with transfers than with recruits, and she thought that was a good idea. I also got the job because I'm guessing that not a lot of people want to live up here in the cold, cold North.

I don't start getting paid, $250,000 a year for 3 years, until May 1, but I'm working hard.

Who am I? I'm a hoops junkie. I played Power Forward at UMass at 6'7", 245 lbs. I made all conference my senior year. I LIVE college hoops. Started following the sport at about age 8 and got to know all the stats really well, got a book out of the UMass library (Mom's a professor there) at maybe age 9, on how to coach college hoops. That was 2003. I took notes on my computer writing practically the whole book in there. I studied and studied. When I watched games on TV as a kid I noted the offenses and defenses, as well as what plays were being run, noted how coaches adjusted. Hell, I could have coached a high school team by age 10. Both my high school and college coaches called me their coach on the floor and my UMass coach hired me immediately upon my graduation.