DDSCB23: 20s and UP

DDSCB23: 20s and UP

Postby Wayne23 » Tue Jan 09, 2024 3:55 pm

DDSCB23 20s and Up
5/1: Al Wynn here. I’ve been a head coach for a few years. Moving to UConn, which is a very successful program. My goal is to keep them that way, but not to recruit anyone better than #20. That means I’ll lose fewer players to the NBA draft after a season or two. I think I’ll be able to stay at or near the top of the pack with this philosophy.

Let’s see what happens!

I walk into a team with only the #68 recruiting class.

We’re preseason #12.

I’m going to run Triangle and Flex on O, 100% man-to-man on D, including when we press, which we will as needed.

We meet our expected to spend amount.
Wayne23
DDS:CB Support Squad

Re: DDSCB23: 20s and UP

Postby Wayne23 » Tue Jan 09, 2024 5:18 pm

6/25: We’ll go to the Indy Elite and all of the regional camps. I suppose I should tell a little about myself. I’m 30 years old. While I’ve been a head college coach for 5 years it was at a Div. II school. This is my first time at Div. I and it’s pretty exciting. I was very successful in those five years, winning more than 90% of my games and winning the national Div. II title for the last 2 years.

I feel like I relate better to the players than to adults. I have to make a real effort when I meet with families. But kids like me even though I’m pretty hard nosed. I’ll do my best to recruit guys who follow the rules.

No matter how good you are, if you don’t work hard in practice, be a team player, and follow the rules, you won’t get much playing time.

I’m big on academics and I came here partly because they have great academic support for athletes. I only have one guy whose grades are an issue and we’ll work with him from day one.

When I have free time, which isn’t often, I like to read a book. I’m not opposed to having a beer, but only one.