20s and Up

20s and Up

Postby Wayne23 » Sun Apr 14, 2024 3:34 pm

DDSCB24 20s and Up

(Author’s Note: I started this in the 2023 version. Rather than import it I decided to start over.)

5/1: Al Wynn here. I’ve been a head coach for ten years, going 250-45 at BU. I’m 35 years old. I’m moving to UConn, which is a very successful program. My goal is to keep them that way, but not to recruit anyone better than #20. That means I’ll lose fewer players to the NBA draft after a season or two. I think I’ll be able to stay at or near the top of the pack with this philosophy.

Let’s see what happens!

I walk into a team with the #5 recruiting class.

We’re preseason #5.

I’m walking into a good situation but we’re not quite as good as the ranking indicates.

I’m going to run Flex and Motion on O, 100% man-to-man on D, including when we press, which we will as needed.

We meet our expected to spend amount.

6/25: We’ll go to the Indy Elite and all of the regional camps.

I suppose I should tell a little about myself. I’m 35 years old. I’ve been a head college coach for 10 years, as I said.

I feel like I relate better to the players than to adults. I have to make a real effort when I meet with families, and I should add that a family who thinks their kid walks on water, or who is above the rules- well that means we won’t pursue the kid, no matter how good he is. Kids like me even though I’m pretty hard nosed. I’ll do my best to recruit guys who follow the rules.

No matter how good you are, if you don’t work hard in practice, be a team player, and follow the rules, you won’t get much playing time.

I’m big on academics and I came here partly because they have great academic support for athletes.