Defensive plays creation - Need help setting up player's act

Defensive plays creation - Need help setting up player's act

Postby Invisible Witness » Wed May 06, 2020 2:02 pm

Newbie here, I'm trying to create defensive plays but not sure what do I put for let's say DT or DE if it is a run play I'm expecting. Or how about LB ? What if I'm expecting a pass play? Set my CB to cover ? What about FS or SS? The diagram showing play is not even changing after I selected action for each position...Is there somewhere a guide how to set my defensive players actions based on anticipated play? Could someone explain? Thank you in advance.
Invisible Witness

Re: Defensive plays creation - Need help setting up player's

Postby Invisible Witness » Thu May 07, 2020 5:55 pm

Basically what I'm asking here is what does it mean Flat or what's the difference between Rush or Blitz. Do I set my DT and DE to rush always? What's the difference between setting up LB to Blitz & Rush ? Just basic explanation will do.
Great game btw. Love those options to create plays.
Invisible Witness

Postby Ronm » Sat May 09, 2020 12:01 am

A lot of it (IMO) is nuance.
A blitz is more of an all out rush, which is aggressive and has a chance for a big play/tackle for loss, but as the LB or DB has a kind of "tunnel vision" in the blitz (which makes it effective) it also risks them being burned if it is a draw play or a fast pass in the area they just deserted in order to blitz. A rush order is still aggressive, but a bit less so, so the chance of a defense "big play" loss of yards by the offense, is there, but is lessened a bit by the lack of tunnel vision...your LB is hedging his bets basically and will respond to those tricks like a draw play better, but with the corresponding lowered level of aggressive big play.