Newbie (probably dumb) questions

Newbie (probably dumb) questions

Postby BigPoppaPump » Mon Apr 05, 2021 7:28 pm

Greetings ladies and gentlemen,

Necessary preamble: Great game!
I am actually quite new to the world of American football (mostly a hockey fan-- I am French Canadian, so it is to be expected I suppose), but started getting into football last year with COVID giving me all kinds of free time on my hands to explore new hobbies. Started watching the NFL on a full time basis for the first time in my life last year and I am really loving the game (don't know why I never tried sooner).

Anyways, I've always loved text based simulator games (everything from gladiatorial combat games, pro-wrestling to more legit sports manager games) and I have tried FOF 8 as well. While this game may not exactly match FOF pound for pound in ALL the options, I do like the 2-D engine in this game; it gives you a real visualization of what is actually going on during games, every step of the way. FOF only has a tiny screen with a football that moves around to show you where you are on the field and you have to read text for every play to follow the action.

Thank the Gods for the kind souls such as yourselves who give us an actual franchise - management experience whereas Madden continues it's fad of being more arcade than simulation every year.
I bought Madden 21 (never again until I see some real improvements in the reviews and player feedback) and was horribly dissapointed with the franchise mode (too dumb and inexperienced in this sport to notice the ridiculous stats and gameplay as well though). I quickly got bored after only a few hours into the franchise mode.