Newbie Questions

Newbie Questions

Postby cammyanders » Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:04 pm

Hi guys,

I’m an experienced Football Manager player from Scotland and also have a great passion for Basketball and came across this game and decided to dive right in.

I’ve simmed a few seasons but can’t really say I know what I’m doing - I just feel I’m clocking for the sake of getting through it and hoping I maybe understand (I don’t).

I’ve watched the few YouTube videos out there but still don’t really have a grasp on things - namely recruiting.

The whole recruitment process is completely alien to me as a Scotsman who is used to a football transfer system or NBA trade system rather than recruiting and I’ve several questions I can’t seem to find answers for and they are as follows.

1. How to pick who to recruit/what positions? I presume priority positions will be those with a senior in them as they’ll leave?

2. Should I be maxing out the 50 call list?

3. Should I be putting say 5-10 of each position in the watch list/call list? Is this too much?

4. Should I be using every $ of my budget?

Thanks in advance for any help!
cammyanders

Re: Newbie Questions

Postby PointGuard » Tue Feb 23, 2021 11:44 pm

cammyanders wrote:1. How to pick who to recruit/what positions? I presume priority positions will be those with a senior in them as they’ll leave?

3. Should I be putting say 5-10 of each position in the watch list/call list? Is this too much?

Welcome to DDSCB, cammyanders. Recruiting is more of an "art" than a "science". Its a skill you learn over time playing the game and there is no one "right" way to do it. I think most everyone does it at least somewhat differently. But I'll give you my perspective...but please realize that I don't necessarily follow any of the following religiously each and every year...sometimes things might make me alter what I do.