AI Depth Chart Matrix Management

AI Depth Chart Matrix Management

Postby ukSUNSfan » Thu Nov 11, 2021 4:41 pm

As I'm still new to the game (played 2021 since June), there might be a way of doing this that I'm not aware of so apologies if so.

The AI depth chart/matrix management doesn't seem to match the way it's typically done in real life in the sense that rarely do you see real life Head Coaches take all 5 starters off at the same time. In 2021 and in my quick first look at 2022, asking the AI t set the entire matrix often results in them having the starters minutes all aligned together, and likewise the bench players.

In real life you tend to see staggered subs so that there is almost always a starter or 2 on the floor at all times. In the case of Phoenix, it's unusual for Coach Monty to not have either Chris Paul or Devin Booker on the floor to run the offense. In game, they both, along with the other starters, get sat a the same time. (the run and gun Suns team I grew up watching, Mike D'Antoni always wanted one of Nash, Marion or Diaw on the floor - they wouldn't all come out together)

Is there a way to currently manage this without having to complete the matrix myself, or can the AI matrix decision making be tweaked to stagger subs/starter minutes?
ukSUNSfan

Re: AI Depth Chart Matrix Management

Postby ukSUNSfan » Thu Nov 11, 2021 4:42 pm

On a side note, the depth chart visually is fantastic this year. The style and colours make it look so much better!
ukSUNSfan

Postby Gary Gorski » Thu Nov 11, 2021 10:47 pm

Well the only real way to change that would be in the code, which I will look at doing, but its not always the case. If I look at this year's PHX team so far in terms of minutes the 6th highest lineup is Payne/Shamet/Nader/Johnson/McGee and 10th is that lineup with Payton instead of Payne - granted its only a few games in but its not totally uncommon.