Draft Day Sports CB2024 Review

Postby CBDragon » Sat Apr 20, 2024 8:09 pm

I have played plenty of sports sims:
• Football Manager (FM) – from text based Championship Manager to the 3D FM, I’ve been playing this off and on for at least 25+ years. You’re not a true sports sims fan if you haven’t been “FM’d”!
• Drive the Lane (DTL) – online college basketball simulator where you compete against other real coaches. Very unique recruiting. Definitely feels old and outdated, but I’ve been involved with it on and off for close to 20 years now.
• Bowl Bound College Football – Have had fun with it over the years, but has a few major flaws. Recruiting feels a bit the same as this game.
• NCAA14 – Played it on coach mode. Had a hard time finding good sliders to make the game both realistic and fair, but I enjoyed the recruiting. I liked how you saw the recruit’s top 3 important items, and how your school graded for each of them. Just didn’t like how the school with the top points automatically landed the recruit; I like there to be some mystery/chance.

I started off the demo with the intent of playing a Blue Blood so that I could get a good feel for how the game worked and then I would later start a new save with a different team. I picked Duke as my favorite school and then I messed up. The game asked about ambition/temper/academics/integrity/discipline and I thought it was asking how much of an impact those things would have on the game in general so I picked low/average for all of them thinking it would make the game less challenging for my first play through…I then realized that those were my coaching attributes and that I was now locked out of coaching Duke or any Blue Blood! What the heck, I decided to roll with it, and I saw Idaho St on the list and picked them since I have some connections to the city (wife and in-laws are from there). So that was my bad.